Fair Queen History


The 2016 Clay County Fair Queen is Katie Simpson of Spencer, the daughter of Scott and Alison Simpson. Runner-up was Tari Knock of Royal, the daughter of Brent and Jessica Knock. Also competing were Brooke Erdman of Spencer, the daughter of Bob Erdman and Jolene and Terry Hansen; Abby Galm of Spencer, the daughter of Paul and Brenda Galm; Sara Nehring of Royal, the daughter of Dwayne and Vicki Nehring; Nicole Raner of Webb, the daughter of Michael and Lisa Raner; Camie Smith of Webb, the daughter of Will and Mary Smith; Kylara Steffen of Linn Grove, the daughter of Cory and Susan Steffen; and Sydney Vanderhoff of Greenville, the daughter of Brett and Angie Vanderhoff.


The 2015 Clay County Fair Queen is Cassie Day, 17-year-old of Everly, daughter of Derrin and Kathy Day. Runner-up was Cassie Hanson of Linn Grove. Also competing were Sydney Salton, Dickens; Katie Simpson, Spencer; Jill Fahnlander, Royal; Sydney Vanderhoff, Greenville; Morgan Schomaker, Greenville; Taylor Rouse, Dickens; Nicole Raner, Webb; Tari Knock, Royal; Camie Smith, Webb; and Kylara Steffen, Linn Grove.


Elizabeth Glover, 18-year-old of Spencer, daughter of Louis and Lois Glover was crowned the 2014 Clay County Fair Queen and the Iowa State Fair Queen! Runner-up was Cassie Day of Everly. Also competing were Jill Fahnlander, Royal; Sydney Salton, Dickens; Megan Wassom, Spencer; Abby Galm, Spencer; Madison Schwenneker, Spencer; Josie McCarty, Linn Grove; Jordan Hansen, Spencer; Cassie Hanson, Linn Grove; Ky Steffen, Linn Grove; Morgan Merrill, Spencer; and Shelby Johnson, Royal.

The 2013 Clay County Fair Queen Competition was held on April 14. Lauren Schwarck, the 17-year-old daughter of Kurt & Julie Schwarck of Spencer, was crowned queen and Shena Geisinger, age 16 of Peterson was Runner-Up. Also competing were Renee Nehring, Royal; Jordan Hansen, Spencer; Shelby Johnson, Royal; Suneva Nielson, Albert City; Katlyn Moore, Spencer and Madison Schwenneker, Spencer.

Presley Herrig, daughter of Todd & Tanya Herrig of Peterson, was crowned 2012 Clay County Fair Queen on Sunday, April 15 at the Clay County Event Center. Alecia Olson, daughter of Mark & Brenda Olson of Spencer was named runner-up. Also competing were Tori Rayner of Royal and Elizabeth Halverson of Spencer.

Spencer High School Senior, Cassandra Galm, daughter of Paul & Brenda Galm, captured the Clay County Fair Queen title with her own style (boot-stompin’ style!) on Sunday, April 3,. She went on to capture the first runner-up State Fair Queen title in August of that year. Kalei Roskens, daughter of Scott & Kari Roskens of Spencer earned the runner-up and others competing were Brandi Baschke, Spencer; Lynda Harken, Spencer; Ayla Sennert, Spencer; Kelsey Pluegger, Spencer; and Jannessa Helm of Spencer.

On April 18, fourteen competed for the title of Clay County Fair Queen. Kearsten Brown, Sioux Central junior from Webb and daughter of Brad & Kerry Brown, was crowned queen. Presley Herrig, also a junior at Sioux Central, daughter of Todd & Tanya Herrig was selected runner-up at the event. Rounding out the field of competition were Marybeth Quattlebaum, Spencer; Jennifer Rushton, Peterson; Allison Bendlin, Spencer; Erin McDermott, Spencer; Gabrielle Pearson, Spencer; Sarah Jackson, Spencer; Kady Groen, Spencer; Grace Gould, Spencer; Kaylee Kourousis, Spencer; Lakyn Spears, Spencer; Hannah Brockshus, Spencer; and Megan Baxter, Spencer.

Kelsey Salton of Spencer, daughter of Russ & Sue (and sister of Abby!), was crowned the evening of April 19 from a record-setting field of 19 contenders. Hannah Brockshus, daughter of Todd & Barb Brockshus, was selected as runner-up. Both were juniors at Spencer High School. Kelsey went on to place third at the State Fair in Des Moines in August. Others competing for the title that year were Brooke Baschke, Spencer; Erin Dvorak, Spencer; Rebecca Florke, Spencer; Victoria Foerster, Spencer; Grace Gould, Spencer; Kodi Hansen, Everly; Callie Hoffman, Spencer; Haili Iles, Spencer; Taylor Jepsen, Terril; Emily Jones, Spencer; Kassandra Kroger, Spencer; Erin McDermott, Spencer; Julia Olson, Spencer; Marybeth Quattlebaum, Spencer; Megan Rustad, Spencer; Kelsey Stoever, Spencer; and Grace Toele, Spencer.

Eight girls contended for the title of Clay County Fair Queen on March 23. Mandy Mauer, daughter of Jeff & Lori Maurer of Royal was crowned Queen and Caitlin Patten of Webb, daughter of Doug & Carol Patten was 1st runner-up. In August at the State Fair Queen Competition, Mandy placed 3rd from a field of 102 contenders for the State Fair Queen title. Then, that fall at the Clay County Fair, Mandy cut the ribbon on our new fair stage, designed & built by her grandpa, Bob Mauer. Others vying for the crown that year were Sara Edwardson, Spencer; Felicia Essick, Dickens; Shante Foot, Spencer; Monica Harmon, Spencer; Elizabeth Taylor, Spencer and Jennifer Vanderhoff, Marathon.

On August 14, Abby Salton, daughter of Russ & Sue Salton, “scored a Rare Double” when she was not only awarded title of Personality Plus by her peers in Des Moines, but was also selected judge’s choice as the 2007 Iowa State Fair Queen! Abby, earned the title of Clay County Fair Queen in May of that year.  Both Abby and her runner-up, Kylee Rhode, daughter of Steve & Kim Rhode, were Spencer High School juniors.  Rounding out the “field” of eleven competitors were Samantha Cook, Spencer; Felecia Essick, Dickens; Shante Foote, Spencer; Abby Hawn, Spencer; Jaime Hynes, Spencer; Leah Klett, Everly; Caitlin Patton, Webb; Madella Smith, Dickens and Meghan Vosberg, Spencer.

Courtney Smith, daughter of Nick & Angie Smith of Webb was named 2006 Clay County Fair Queen on May 7 at the Clay County Event Center.  Courtney, a junior at Sioux Central, went on to place 3rd at the State Fair Queen Competition in Des Moines that summer. Madella Smith, a sophomore at Spencer High School and daughter of Brett & Mary Jo Smith was runner-up. Also competing in ’06 for Clay County Fair Queen were Lindy Laubenthal, Spencer; Sarah McCarty, Hartley; Megan Hess, Spencer; Samantha Hamrick, Spencer; Mackenzie Menke, Everly; Tawny Smith, Webb and Terri Stewart, Spencer.

On May 1, Betsy Brugman, daughter of David & Sue Brugman of Royal, was selected from a field of fifteen contestants to wear the crown. Runner-up was Courtney Smith. Other candidates were Teresa Ball, Dickens; Abby Dillard, Dickens; Kristen Fisher, Royal; Cheyenne Glienke, Greenville’ Megan Hess, Spencer; Kimberly Jessen, Everly; Kaylene Kollasch, Spencer; Amber Mortenson, Spencer; Elizabeth Buchan, Spencer; Jenah Muhlbauer, Royal; Emily Rasmussen, Spencer; Courtney Smith, Webb; Tawny Smith, Gillett Grove; and Amy Uecker, Spencer.

Eleven contestants competed for the “new” title of Clay County Fair Queen at the revived event, held on Sunday, April 18.  Nicole Mehls, daughter of Richard & Joni Mehls and an 18-year-old senior at Spencer High School was crowned queen, and Erin McMullen, also of Spencer was named first runner-up. Other contenders were Angie Palm, Spencer; Lesley Salton, Spencer; Jenah Mulbauer, Royal; Cheyenne Glienke, Greenville; Ashley Sorenson, Langdon; Betsy Brugman, Royal; Tawny Smith, Ruthven; Jamilee Sierck, Spencer; and Nicole Joenks, Rossie. At the Iowa State Fair in August of 2004, Nicole was named 3rd runner-up, securing “renewed bragging rights” once again for the Clay County Fair Queen Competition!